Another Day of Rest

Well, today is a good day.  Confusing, but hopeful.  First it started with a miracle for me…I slept the entire night, the first since my surgery!  Prior to that it was only an hour or two at a time, and often just  few minutes before I’d awaken coughing and with severe throat pain.  Finally (I know, I’m a slow learner, lol) it occurred to me that I hadn’t been taking my Prilosec since I got home.  I honestly didn’t think I needed it after surgery, especially since my ENT prescribed it in an effort to avoid surgery, which didn’t work.  I remember protesting that there was NO WAY I had acid reflux, at which he laughed, and said that rarely do people believe that they have it, but then they feel so much better after.  So, I tried it, and it did help some.  Not all the way though, hence ended up getting the surgery anyway.  So, I wasn’t entirely crazy in thinking that I didn’t need it afterwards, I remember being happy that now I was off it.

 

However, when I finally decided to try it again, WOW what an amazing difference!!!  I collapsed into bed, exhausted from lack of sleep.  I mean I’ve been so tired that I’ve been feverish, had chills, and actually felt like I was a little kid coming down with the flu.  Ugh.  However, last night, fell asleep immediately, and didn’t wake up even once until morning!!!  It was light in my room when I awakened, and to say that I felt so much better doesn’t begin to touch the difference.  It’s crazy what a difference sleep can make…obviously I’m a person who very much needs mine.

 

Enough about me though, first thing on the agenda was to call the vet.  Dr. Svenson said Arnold was doing better, and he wanted to try a different food one more time.  I agreed–of course–but said that if it happens again that that’ll be it.  He agreed, and I picked him up, looking MUCH brighter and happier than when I took him.  He still isn’t himself, still is resting a lot.  I am going to give him a bath tonight, (fortunately he doesn’t mind baths, so I won’t be stressing him), and I’ve made up my mind that he’s not going outside anymore.  That will be extremely difficult as he adores being outside, and my ears will be assaulted by nonstop meowing to get out there.  I will have to be tough though, as I want to make sure he doesn’t get into anything.

 

Aside from that…just finished, of all things, “The Duck Commander Family: How Faith, Family, And Ducks Built A Dynasty”.  I never in a million years would have dreamed I’d be a Duck Dynasty fan!  They are such a neat family, however, so full of love and Christian faith.  I love watching the show, and reading the book, finding out the trials and tribulations that they went through prior to their very hard-earned success, was amazing and inspiring.  Would highly recommend for anyone to read.

 

Okay, will sign off for now, and try to think of something more interesting than a blow by blow account of my day, haha.  Just wanted to update anyone who is concerned though, and I thank-you for your caring and support.

Leave a Reply

