Arnold the Great

I took Arnold to the vet today.  I finally had back his carrier, and I couldn’t bear the thought of having to wait until Monday to bring him in, not as bad off as he is.  So I called the vet, feeling very bad that it’s a Saturday, and his answering service promised he’d call me.  He did, a short while later.  Might I say I have the best vet in the world, only a step behind James Herriot (one of my favorite authors of all time, the English veterinarian of “All Creatures Great and Small” fame).  Anyway, my vet is similar to him…very caring with animals, never upset about being called on a weekend, truly just worrying and fussing over his charges like a worried parent.  For many years, at least a couple of decades, he donated for free his services to the Humane Society, and spayed, neutered, and provided care to countless homeless animals for free.  Not to mention that Arnold always senses that Dr. Svenson cares about him, and never tries to get away, but instead seems almost relieved to be there.

 

So kindly Dr. Svenson told me to bring him in at 5.  I did so, and the first thing he did was give him 400 mls of fluid (he lost another pound since he was last there in May), and a steroid shot.  He unfortunately concurred that probably the most humane thing to do, at this point, is put him to sleep.  I told him my grandchildren want to see him one last time, and may need to go to the clinic on Monday, to say goodbye, and he agreed, and said they’d keep him going until then. 

 

So I am relieved that he’s getting fluid, and not dehydrated, but sad as well, that it is likely the end of the road for him.  I’m just so thankful for a saint like Dr. Svenson, a man who truly loves the animals as if they were his own.

 

***************************************************************************************************************************

Am watching the news right now, about the plane crash at the San Francisco International Airport.  What a tragedy.  I think of the dozens of times I’ve taken off in a plane, or landed, perhaps more than 50 by now.  Always in the back of my mind was a sense of relief at both a successful take-off or landing.  I can’t imagine how these poor folks were feeling, going through that, and the survivors need our prayers, not to mention family members of those who perished.  Yes, it’s cliche, but we never know when the end will be, when our lives will be suddenly changed irrevocably, and forever.  How important to cherish what we have…and our family and friends.  I’m sure a lot of America, and the world, feels the same way tonight.

Leave a Reply

